Sydney Thunder 2021/2022

Playing shirt designed by proud Yuin woman Rheanna Lotter

Sydney Thunder has revealed its new Indigenous shirt to be worn during the inaugural Weber WBBL and KFC BBL First Nations Rounds this summer.

Designed by Rheanna Lotter, a Sydney-based Yuin woman, the playing shirt honours Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture and symbolises the connection of the Thunder Nation.


The large circle in the middle represents the Thunder teams (women's and men's) and the boomerangs symbolise their fierce energy.

The lighter circles at the top represent past, present and future players, while the stars represent Aboriginal ancestors.

The dots surrounding and connecting the circles represent the supporters, staff, sponsors and wider community who make up the Thunder Nation.

Check out the video below to hear Thunder captain and proud Kamilaroi woman Hannah Darlington talk about what the shirt means to her.



The Weber WBBL and KFC BBL will hold their first League-wide First Nations Rounds this season, as the Big Bash reaffirms its commitment to deepening education and meaningful connection with Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People.

The Rounds will acknowledge, pay respect and celebrate the hundreds of First Nations and traditional custodians of the land and waters encompassing where we are privileged to live, work and play the great game of cricket on.



The WBBL First Nations Round will take place from 17-21 November on the lands of the Kaurna people at Adelaide Oval and Karen Rolton Oval and Yuwibara people at Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay. The round will begin with the Faith Thomas Trophy match between Adelaide Strikers and Perth Scorchers.

The BBL First Nations Round will be held from 8-14 January in venues nationwide, culminating in the Strikers and Scorchers playing for the Jason Gillespie Trophy.

Thunder's Indigenous playing shirt will not available for retail this summer however there will be a limited number of shirts auctioned to support Cricket NSW's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander T20 Cup. More information to come in the following weeks.